pt en
Newsletter

Information about education provided online, with recent results of scientific research and useful information for teachers, parents, students and the general public. Contributing to an informed debate.

Do two weeks of instruction time matter?
Opinion 21.03.2024

Do two weeks of instruction time matter?

In Madrid, public schools cut two weeks from their school year without altering the syllabus. We examined student test scores before and after this change and compared them with private schools, which didn't experience this shift.

Dramatic new evidence that building knowledge can boost comprehension and close gaps
Opinion 22.06.2023

Dramatic new evidence that building knowledge can boost comprehension and close gaps

Building students’ general knowledge can lead to dramatic long-term improvements in reading comprehension, a new study suggests—casting serious doubt on standard teaching approaches.


related
The gift of gifted children
Opinion 24.05.2023

The gift of gifted children

When discussing education systems, the focus is usually on low-performing students. Often the reasons for a low performance are linked to the students’ disadvantaged socioeconomical or immigrant background: youngsters who struggle with their shortcomings, their motivation to learn and even to be at school. The other end of the spectrum is discussed less frequently.


related
Shower some love on the sentence
Opinion 09.12.2022 Reading time: 12 min

Shower some love on the sentence

When students can’t understand what they’re reading, it may be because they’re unfamiliar with the complex syntax of written sentences. Teaching them how to write complex sentences about what they’re learning can help.

When language prevents kids from succeeding at math
Opinion 22.09.2022 Reading time: 6 min

When language prevents kids from succeeding at math

Students who don’t read well or lack crucial vocabulary often face unnecessary obstacles — not just in reading but also in math. Why is that?


related
Five ways our intuition can mislead us about learning
Opinion 13.07.2022 Reading time: 10 min

Five ways our intuition can mislead us about learning

Our perceptions about what’s working in the learning process often conflict with scientific findings. That can make it harder for teachers and students to be successful.


related
What are the future reading challenges for Covid-era babies?
Opinion 23.06.2022 Reading time: 5 min

What are the future reading challenges for Covid-era babies?

We know the pandemic has had a serious negative impact on the academic achievement of school-age children. But recent evidence shows we also need to worry about Covid-era babies and toddlers.


related
Want Kids To Learn History? Ask These 4 Questions
Opinion 25.05.2022 Reading time: 4 min

Want Kids To Learn History? Ask These 4 Questions

History teachers generally get inadequate training and materials, and students often don’t learn much. Several initiatives are trying to address the problem, but only one—the Four Question Method—provides teachers with the framework they need.


related
The making of a mathematics curriculum: a story of hope from Ballarat, Australia
Opinion 12.05.2022 Reading time: 4 min

The making of a mathematics curriculum: a story of hope from Ballarat, Australia

An example of how concerned citizens can and should speak up regarding education


related
War and education challenges in the 21st century
Opinion 28.04.2022 Reading time: 6 min

War and education challenges in the 21st century

The 2022 Russian invasion of Ukraine has created the biggest human catastrophe modern-day Europe has experienced. Millions of Ukrainians, mostly women, children and other vulnerable groups, were forced to leave their country. How do we ensure fleeing children continue to pursue their education? And what skills do we all need in order to prepare ourselves and our children for an unpredictable future?


related

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Keep up with all the news
Subscribe